Super Sumac

Last week I discovered the Sumac spice and wanted to share this new find with you. This  has come at a great time because it is a summery and refreshing spice, and it will instantly transform your salad for the better.

img_6040.jpg

Sumac is a herb popular in Middle Eastern cooking. It is often substituted in recipes where you might use lemon juice (The Spice House). It has a light and subtle favour, and is perfect in salad dressings. I found a jar in my local Sainsburys for £1.

I concocted a summery salad which goes well with a Sumac dressing, so enjoy on a sunny day.

Fran’s Summery Salad with a Sumac Dressing

For the salad, mix together the following ingredients:

  • Kale- add lemon juice and olive oil to tenderise
  • Cooked quinoa (Takes about 10-15 mins on the hob- the grains transform into transparent spirals when cooked)
  • Edamame beans
  • Feta Cheese
  • Grated Carrot
  • Pomegranate seeds
  • Salad leaves
  • Chia seeds

For the dressing, combine:

  • Olive oil
  • Cider or balsamic vineger to taste
  • Salt and Pepper
  • A hearty pinch of Sumac

Toss the salad, drizzle over your dressing and enjoy. I hope you like sumac as much as I do, I think it’ll be re appearing over the coming weeks!

FullSizeRender-1.jpg

PS- My friend Jade (who I mentioned in my Buddha Bowl post #kale) has set up an Instagram account which is full to the brim with beautiful vegan food inspo! Check it out here!

Header: Boscombe, Bournemouth 2017 

Leave a Reply

