Yerba Mate: the South American Super Plant

If you follow my Instagram, you may have noticed that back in January I collaborated with local company Yuyo to join them on their #YerbaMateMission, where I sampled and shared my experience of drinking Yerba Mate for the very first time. It quickly became my exam saviour and so I thought I would share a little more about this drink and why I liked it so much.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 15.31.55.png

Candidly enjoying a pre-exam Yerba Mate.

What is Yerba Mate?

Yerba Mate (Yerba Mah-Tay) is a caffeinated drink made from the leaves of the South American rainforest holly tree (Ilex paraguariensis). It is an extremely popular drink in South America, where is it traditionally brewed in a gourd (cup) and drunk through a bombilla (straw).  It’s similar to drinking any hot beverage- you can substitute it for your morning coffee or calming green tea. (Guayaki)

Reported Health Benefits

Yerba mate is said to stimulate and focus the mind, with some describing the associated euphoria like having a bar of chocolate. It also contains an array of antioxidants, vitamins and minerals. You can read more about its health benefits here.

Being a Yerba Mate Ambassador

In the dark depths of revision season in January, I received a colourful package of samples from Yuyo. My mission was simple: try the Yerba mate, and if I liked it- post about it. I stubbornly told my best friend Eloise that if I didn’t like it I would DEFINITELY not be Instagramming it… this made her chuckle because I actually ended up liking and posting about it a fair bit!

I’ve tried many herbal teas in my time- I’m a big fan of Blue Bird Tea Company loose tea especially (cheers Eilidh). I can truthfully say I was very impressed and really enjoyed drinking Yerba mate, and drank it like I would do a green tea.

I often find that drinking coffee dehydrates me, I can get a bit of a headache and if I drink it past 2 in the afternoon I’m in for a bad night’s sleep. Yerba mate was different, I felt refreshed after I drank it- it gave me my usual caffeine kick but with none of the down sides of coffee. I was sleeping well, and there was something very therapeutic about brewing the leaves and pretending I was in Brazil.

I can completely see why it’s often referred to as “clean caffeine”, and recommended it to several friends who also loved it. I will be using it again to power me through my next set of rapidly approaching exams.

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 16.11.02.png

When your leggings match your bio.

Personally, I think Yuyo’s branding is beautiful. As a company I admire their ethics- their mate is organic, and they work with a supplier who not only supports local farmers but also facilitates reforestation initiatives. (“Sourcing our Yerba”)

Whilst Yerba mate is more expensive than some tea, if you are looking for a “cleaner” form of caffeine, with all the perks of coffee and more, I think it is definitely worst investing. I found I could “re-brew” the bags or loose yerba twice to make it last a little longer.

Yerba mate is available in loose and tea bag form, in a variety of blends. The Ginger and Cardamon blend is my favourite. The bagged form of yerba mate means you don’t necessarily need a gourd and bombilla to enjoy it, however I found this duo is also useful for drinking other loose tea without having to use a teapot. You’ll be happy to hear that Yuyo’s are BPA free which is great news.

Enjoy!

Screen Shot 2017-04-05 at 16.09.23.png

 

You can browse Yuyo’s range hereThank you to Yuyo for the colourful header picture, and for getting me through my exams!

Leave a Reply

